The ‘Cat Pack Captains

Still new to the UNH campus, I was finally introduced to the ‘Cat Pack at UNH homecoming. They were a loud bunch of students that day, cheering the football team to victory over Delaware. After seeing their dedication to support their fellow student/athletes at the America East volleyball championship and football’s FCS playoff run, I thought it might be a good idea to produce a piece about the ‘Cat Pack.

About the story

The ‘Cat Pack Captains are a student organization at UNH, who take pride in supporting all the UNH Wildcat athletic teams. We decided to produce a behind the scenes video as they prepared for White Out The Whitt, the annual UNH men’s hockey game vs Maine, a major athletic event that students look forward to ever year.

Production

During the week leading up to Saturday night’s game, I spent a Wednesday night filming the ‘Cat Pack’s weekly meeting as they planned out their attack. The meeting gave me a good idea as to what chants and cheers I could expect. On Friday afternoon, Scott Ripley and I filmed an interview with the president of the ‘Cat Pack Captains, Peter Wilkinson.

IMG_1117

Gear used for interview – Sony FS700 with Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8,  (2) Genaray LED light panels, Lowel Rifa 44, Marshall monitor, Sony wired lav

On game day, we used the following gear

Ripley – Panasonic HP500, Nikon D610, Nikon 70-200 f/2.8

Gasowski – Sony FS700 with Sony 18-200 f/3.5-5.6 and Nikon 10.5 f/2.8 fisheye, Manfroto monopod, GoPro Hero 3, Sennheiser ewG3 wireless, and Nikon D610 with 17-35 f/2.8 for stills.

Galante – Nikon D610 with 28-70 f/2.8, Rode video mic pro

IMG_1142

Ripley was located up top near the press boxes with a focus on the wide shots and game footage, leaving Steve and I embedded with the ‘Cat Pack. Since I had Peter mic’d up, I stay right in front with the front row focusing on the leaders. Steve got to roam free, minus the one shot he had to get, which would be under the #IbelieveInUNH banner.

Overall the night was going very well and we were getting the footage we needed. Finally UNH scored in the second, giving me the final shot I needed for my video, the fish hitting the ice. BUT, the goal was called back so no fishy yet. Surely, UNH would score again soon, there still was half of the game left. As time on the clock ticked away, I realized I might not be able to capture the iconic goal celebration. Final score Maine 4 – UNH 0….arghhh, what a bummer. “What happens to the fish if we don’t score?” I asked Rip. “I think they throw it on the President’s lawn,” he joked back.

IMG_1145

Waiting for the goal reaction that never came.

Post Production

No goal on the cards, but lots of great footage to play with! Ideally the story was about the ‘Cat Pack and we chose the hockey game to help frame the story. So, all I’d have to do in post is twist the story line a bit more towards who the ‘Cat Pack Captains are.

IMG_1248

Edited using Adobe Premiere, Adobe After Effects, Adobe Speedgrade.

Produced by Jeremy Gasowski
Assistant Producer, Communications and Public Affairs

Additional Photography by Scott Ripley
Producer, Communications and Public Affairs

Additional Photography by Steven Galante
Student employee, Communications and Public Affairs

Leave a comment